top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn TN Tech

Seeking Health & Mindfulness During Your Time Abroad

My name is Kaitlyn, and this summer I studied abroad at the University of Limerick in Ireland for 3 weeks. As an Exercise Science major and someone who is passionate about learning about and seeking wellness in my life, I hoped to continue my patterns and habits during my time abroad. Here are some of the ways I found to stay actively engaged in physical and mental health in a new place among new people, and I hope they can help you as you seek to do the same!

 

UL Sports Arena aerobics group fitness room

Find an exercise partner or group to keep you motivated and accountable.

My host university gave us vouchers to use the UL Sports Arena student gym, and I went every school day with classmates to use their equipment and weight room and attended 2 group fitness classes.





Shannon River Trail Run

Walk, run, or bike on trails.

On the Shannon River trail from UL to Limerick City, I enjoyed more time in the outdoors. This was a great way to mix up my cardio while exploring more of beautiful Ireland!
















The Locke's sticky toffee pudding dessert

Splurge on local dishes and foods you are excited to try and choose more healthily otherwise.

It’s easy to lean on the comfort of American-style fast foods like burgers or pizzas, but I found great healthy options to bridge my time between donuts, sticky toffee puddings, and pub fish & chips instead of cafeteria fried chicken & chips that just were not as worthwhile for the calories.



Morning tea & toast

Start the day with a cuppa tea (or coffee) & breakfast.

At UL, our dorms in Thomond Village were apartment style with full kitchens, which allowed me to eat a well-rounded easy breakfast like toast, yogurt, or scrambled eggs every day. It’s important to fuel your studying and adventures!






Allow yourself to rest.

Because my study abroad was only 3 weeks long, I found myself trying to squeeze the most out of every hour. It can be difficult to slow down but is refreshing to set aside a calm afternoon in every now and then. Also, it allows time to reflect and appreciate!


Journal.

Studying abroad is an incredible and unforgettable experience, but if you are like me, you might have trouble recalling some names and details later. Keeping a daily journal of my adventures was one of my best decisions! It helps keep the incredible memories vividly alive, and you can reread them when you want to tell stories when you return home!


Take pictures often.

Like journaling, this captures memories! I treasure all of my pictures deeply!

Flowers by the Shannon from my first day in Limerick!
10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page