top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn TN Tech

Exploring 4 Castles in Ireland

During my study abroad in Ireland, I had the wonderful opportunity to visit 4 castles throughout the southwest of Ireland. It felt completely surreal to be physically present in these historic royal places as I walked among the grounds and ascended the spiral staircases. In today’s blog, I want to give you a glimpse of my explorations at these unique and charming sites.

 

King John’s Castle, County Limerick

Within hours after arriving at the Shannon airport, I visited King John’s Castle in the center of Limerick City. My first-ever castle tour did not disappoint! Before exploring the courtyard and towers, I walked through the highly interactive and modern museum to learn about the castle’s history. The museum led underground to show the collapsed ruins from a siege during which King John’s enemies counter-mined two intersecting tunnels. Above ground, this 13th century castle was a grand and picturesque fortress with beautiful views of the Shannon River and Limerick City.


 

Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, County Clare

When flying into Ireland, I saw several castles and wondered about the lives of the royalty who once occupied their walls and grounds. My experience at Bunratty Castle offered the most dynamic and complete image of this Irish kingdom living I had mused about. Inside Bunratty were magnificent dining and great rooms, winding staircases, and fully furnished bedrooms that captured the grandeur of medieval royalty. Outside the castle in Folk Park were thatch homes, farm animals, a church, schools, and shops staged to depict village life for the servants and workers of the village.


 

Blarney Castle & Gardens, County Cork

Third, I toured one of Ireland’s most iconic castles: beautiful Blarney! (And, if you were wondering, yes I did kiss the Blarney Stone for the gift of gab!) The roof of Blarney Castle was less intact than Bunratty’s, but otherwise it was very similar in style inside. However, it was beyond the castle walls that truly set Blarney Castle apart as my favorite manmade landmark in Ireland! Among the grounds was gorgeous, green landscaping with brilliantly colored flowers, softly trickling waterfalls, horses, and even a poison garden!


 

Caislean Ui Bhriain on Inisheer, Aran Islands – County Galway

One weekend, I had the opportunity to spend a whole day on Inis Oirr/ Inisheer, the smallest of the Aran Islands. This quaint island housed about 300 people who all still actively practice the native Irish language, Gaeilge. At the highest point on the island sat the ruins of Caislean Ui Bhriain. No signs or plaques were placed to explain the history of this tiny castle, but its vantage point was absolutely spectacular with 360 degree views of the farm plots and ocean bay water. This lovely and humble little castle atop Inisheer brought my dreams of one day experiencing Ireland’s captivating castles and coastlines to reality, and I am forever thankful!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page