top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn TN Tech

Packing & Planning: Preparation for Studying Abroad

My name is Kaitlyn, and earlier this summer I studied abroad at the University of Limerick for 3 weeks. Below are some of my top essential preparation steps that helped me get ready for my amazing experience in Ireland. This is not all-inclusive list but advice I wish I knew before embarking on my journey!

 

GET ORGANIZED

Set yourself extra-early deadlines based on your paperwork and payment due dates and put all of them on your calendar. There are many pieces of the study abroad preparation puzzle to manage, so checklists are essential! This will help you avoid late fees or other problems that could potentially prevent your trip.


SELECT YOUR OPTIONAL EXCURSIONS AHEAD

Often, your host university or study abroad company will offer several optional excursions during your study abroad. Research the destination of these ahead so that you can decide which are worthwhile for the time and money and to account for the extra cost of food, gifts, and the trips themselves (UL required cash Euros payment). Also, these trips can fill up quickly, so it is best to sign up for them as soon as possible. These trips are safe and cost effective exploration options!


PACKING

First, decide early on if you will take a carry on only or pay to check an additional bag. This will affect how much space and weight you have available to pack as well as size restrictions on certain items such as liquid toiletries.


Next, make a packing list and stick to it! Below are my recommendations for key necessities as well as typically unneeded items:


PACK THIS: essential items

  • climate-specific gear- I used my rain jacket and duck boots daily in Ireland

  • laptop for classwork

  • journal

  • day bag or travel-safe purse

  • mostly neutral clothes that can mix & match for multiple outfits- you can’t fit your whole wardrobe, so you will have to get a little creative!

  • prescription medications- you generally can request advance supplies for extended times away

  • power converter specific to your host country’s outlets

  • backup portable charger

  • cash in your host country’s currency + well-accepted credit card- see more about this in my “5 Must-Do To-Do’s” blog post https://kaitlynhs13.wixsite.com/kaitlynirelandblog/post/5-must-do-to-do-s-before-leaving-to-study-abroad

Windy & rainy Ring of Kerry trip. This was a typical outfit for me in Ireland, and my raincoat & boots were essential!

NOT THESE: leave at home

  • too much of similar items

  • excessive shoes- I recommend no more than 4 pairs of comfortable shoes because they are heavy

  • extra electronics- just need phone & laptop

  • restricted items for flight travel- refer to your airline’s website

  • sentimental or expensive jewelry

My Thomond Village apartment closet. These packing cubes were very helpful!

PLANNING FOR THE UNPLANNED

All of your thoughtful and researched preparation will help you make the most of your study abroad experience, but try not to over-schedule! Allowing some free time to embrace unexpected opportunities is important as well! Plan for spontaneity and enjoy your adventures!

I blocked out an open Sunday and used it to go to communion service at St. Mary's Cathedral, a full afternoon tea, and a Gaelic hurling match. So glad I set aside this free time for extra Limerick exploration!
9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page